Week 1 Updated: I believe we should never take one moment for granted

I believe that you should never anyone or any moment for granted. I can honestly say that the majority of people on this earth wander around complaining and are never satisfied with what they have. Not only does this lead to an unhappy and unsatisfying life, but also one filled with deep regret. Why would someone spend their life in misery when they could be living each day to the fullest?

 

Just recently a close friend of my dads died from a heart attack. It was like a punch in the stomach for me. I had literally just seen this man 2 days before and now I was being told that he had died from a deadly heart attack unexpectedly at age 50. Tomorrow when his kids wake up they aren’t going to have a dad. The next day when they wake up he STILL won’t be there. It just makes me appreciate the family I have left and the fact that I can still call them and see them and spend time with them. His daughter is going to get married without her dad walking her down the aisle; his son is never going to go fishing with his dad again. This heartrending event only makes me want to give my dad the biggest hug ever and cherish every single second I have left with him.

 

Personally I feel like I take so many things for granted each and every day. So many people take the time they have left with their friends and family and just waste it because they feel like death could never affect their lives. Death happens every day, whether we see it coming or not. Whenever I think of this topic, I immediate think of the song, “Live Like You Were Dying” by Tim McGraw. Basically what the song is saying is what kind of people would we try to be or what kind of things would we try if we knew we had a terminal disease. Out of all the things that he lists in the song the part that stuck out to me the most was this:

 

“Like tomorrow was a gift
And you’ve got eternity
To think about
What you’d do with it
What could you do with it”

 

This lyric hits me because if we appreciate every day like we should then we can basically do anything with our lives. Each day is a gift that by chance we are given.

 

With my thoughts being said, I started thinking of the thoughts of the more enthusiastic people on this subject.  Every time I see the people that have the “YOLO mentality” (you only live once) it makes me cringe. Living each day to the fullest is not about doing dangerous or stupid things or hurting the people you love, it’s about appreciating what you have and never taking the ones you love for granted. I can see how this whole concept can become twisted to some people due to the radicals that overstep their boundaries and wind up killing themselves just to get a thrill. My point is not saying that you should go out and party and drink just because it may seem to make your life happier in a sense. My point that I want to make is to appreciate and cherish your life and the lives of the people you surround yourself with because if you blink they may be gone.

 

-Maddy Johnston

One thought on “Week 1 Updated: I believe we should never take one moment for granted

  1. Maddy,

    This is very close. You put yourself in a difficult position. You first half is very good. The second half makes the mistake of taking the position of someone who has misunderstood your point. You say at the end: “My point is not saying that you should go out and party and drink just because it may seem to make your life happier in a sense. My point that I want to make is to appreciate and cherish your life and the lives of the people you surround yourself with because if you blink they may be gone.”

    The really hard thing you have to do next is imagine someone who disagrees with the sentiment: “[You should] appreciate and cherish your life and the lives of the people you surround yourself with.” Then, you have to re-write the last paragraph to describe why such a person might disagree with you. — EXCEPTION, SEE BELOW!

    OK, I’m thinking about this. This is really perverse. Who would disagree with the sentiment, I wonder? There are some very austere versions of Protestant Christianity that might reject it: they think you’re supposed to be dissatisfied with the world and that your mind should always be turned toward Christ. So, you shouldn’t feel bad about losing a loved one, because it just means that they’ve had the opportunity to stand before God’s judgment. Still, I think they’d also say that you should walk secure in the feeling of God’s love, and so it could be said that this is just another way of appreciating — appreciating in the most deep and positive way, perhaps — the world around you.

    There are greedy or otherwise petty-minded people who don’t live the idea of appreciating what you have, but even they’d usually say they believe in it.

    There are people who have lived tortorous difficult lives for one reason or another, but they might be the ones to cling most tightly to this belief.

    So, instead of asking you to revise, I’ll give you an S for being the first person to have stumped me. I can’t think of anyone who’d disagree with the belief that it’s a good thing to appreciate what you have.

    M

Leave a Reply

