Shout out to my peeps!

Video games have been a part of my life since I was 5 year old when I played Earthworm Jim and Sonic on my cousin’s Sega Saturn or Mario and Duck Hunt on the NES at my grandma’s house. Those days are long behind me, but the video games have stuck with me with some slight modifications. I have spent countless hours and even logged a total of over 1 year of time sat in front of games (from when I was 5 till now). I have met many friends which I have taken the time to meet outside the game and taken friends from outside the game inside the crazy world of offline and online gaming. I hold great respect for the community and also owe them a debt of gratitude for being there when I was in a slump or when I had nothing else better to do. The outlet provided by gaming has given me way more than I will probably ever give back, but I believe that without gaming, I would not be who I am today.

My cousins have a major place holder for being my start into video games because as new consoles came out, I got their old ones. This allowed me to play them when I wanted because I did not have to bother my mom to take me to their house to play anymore. The rivalry and connections which grew from my friends coming over and playing formed deeper bonds between us and deeper bonds of love for gaming. Once my parents bought me my own Xbox with a subscription to Xbox Live, I was done. I would never take for granted a connection between two individuals who have never met face to face, never. I remember one of the first people I ever met was from a game I played called Halo 2. We were both 16 and she flew down with her parents just to meet me. The whole event was surreal because I had never thought that something like this would happen: a voice became a face. From that point back in 2006, I have met many of my online friends in real life and continued to experience new games with them. One of the other events which put me on my head was my high school sweetheart, Dani. She played World of Warcraft and is a main component in the expansive friend base I hold today. I played that game for about 6 years and friends who have forever impacted my heart greatly (you guys and gals know who you are if you find this). Since college, I have slowed down greatly with gaming, but still Skype my online friends daily to keep in touch.

An individual might see the time spent as wasted because of the high volume of time it takes to be good at many games and even the time it takes to gain networks or even the time spent collecting odds and ends to get to “end game” content. You could go outside and meet new people face to face, or study harder to in another facet of life to gain extraordinary heights. The money spent in keeping up with the gaming industry is pretty outlandish at times too! $800 dollars for a computer good enough to run games at good to max settings? Why not set that aside for a new car, trip, or some fancy clothes? There is also no profit from gaming and the job market (for what you could do) would turn your venting system into a career and rob you of that! The job market for gaming is better put into computer programming in general because you could do more things than just program video games. Also, video games make some people nauseous and that is never a pleasant experience.

3 thoughts on “Shout out to my peeps!

  1. Erik,

    Ha! OK, I really enjoyed this piece. “Even when on a coherent path, one can feel off track.” What I love about this is that you thematize your point: that intellectual inquiry involves a great deal of directionless pacing, as you test different ideas — and different selves — against the teeth of your own imagination. Education, when meaningful, is a process of self-discovery that is always deferred, never complete.

    Maybe that’s your belief? I don’t know. In any case, this was really fun to read but you’ll need to try the assignment again for credit.

    Please review the assignment prompt. To receive a grade of S, this post must be revised to meet the requirements of the assignment. You have until September 24 to complete the revisions, but I strongly suggest submitting them ahead of time in case a second round of revisions are necessary. After you’ve edited the post, inform me in-class and I’ll mark it for review.

    Since you enjoy distraction, I’ll leave you with Rimbaud, “A Season in Hell” (if you’ve never read Rimbaud, stop what you’re doing right now and run to the library):

    A while back, if I remember right, my life was one long party where all hearts were open wide, where all wines kept flowing.

    One night, I sat Beauty down on my lap.—And I found her galling.—And I roughed her up.

    I armed myself against justice. I ran away.

    O witches, O misery, O hatred, my treasure’s been turned over to you! I managed to make every trace of human hope vanish from my mind. I pounced on every joy like a ferocious animal eager to strangle it. I called for executioners so that, while dying, I could bite the butts of their rifles. I called for plagues to choke me with sand, with blood. Bad luck was my god. I stretched out in the muck. I dried myself in the air of crime. And I played tricks on insanity.

    And Spring brought me the frightening laugh of the idiot.

    So, just recently, when I found myself on the brink of the final squawk! it dawned on me to look again for the key to that ancient party where I might find my appetite once more. Charity is that key.—This inspiration proves I was dreaming!

    “You’ll always be a hyena etc. . . ,” yells the devil, who’d crowned me with such pretty poppies. “Deserve death with all your appetites, your selfishness, and all the capital sins!”

    Ah! I’ve been through too much:-But, sweet Satan, I beg of you, a less blazing eye! and while waiting for the new little cowardly gestures yet to come, since you like an absence of descriptive or didactic skills in a writer, let me rip out these few ghastly pages from my notebook of the damned.

    – See more at: http://www.poets.org/viewmedia.php/prmMID/19836#sthash.DO9gl6pF.dpuf

  2. Erik,

    Again, a fun essay, but *not on topic*! As much as I enjoyed reading it, the grade is U. You still have some leeway in your contract, but try to get a little more focused, a little more on track. Stop skipping class, and get your revisions in ahead of time, so you don’t miss out on the chance for a second round of feedback.

    Good luck!

    M

Leave a Reply

