Classical is Still Classic

I believe that classical music should continue to be appreciated in every generation not only for the sake of aesthetic variance, but for the purpose of coming to understand oneself through imagination and artistic appreciation.

I am not condemning today’s music as non-artistic, because it absolutely is. Regarding the fact that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, it is safe to say that “screamo” music is a form of art. Yet the concept of classicism as the perfected and original form of art cannot be argued, in my opinion. Classical music is comprised of the symphonic tunes of original instruments such as the violin, cello, piano, and any other tangible instrument that requires skill and practice to perfect.

I believe that a taste for classical music is important for one of two reasons: that the sheer beauty and mathematical perfection and ability to captivate emotion is enough to deserve respect from anyone. It embodies a lovely sense of order and design, and the grandeur of a symphony of so many instruments harmonizing in thousands of different ways at such a perfect pitch commands admiration. The fathers of classical music themselves were utter geniuses. Mozart composed an entire opera at the age of fourteen which proved to be a success. Beethoven composed and conducted his fifth symphony almost completely deaf. The works of such ingenious and talented minds cannot be regarded as anything less than superior, which is why to this day they are venerated, but only by older generations as the years go on. This is because of the drastic revolution in music that technology presented. Natural, tangible instruments have become obsolete, and the appreciation of truly classical art is fading from view.

Classical music not only promotes an appreciation of aesthetics but of a person’s own self. The lack of words in classical music leaves infinite room for imagination. If a person claims that classical music is boring, I think that that is only because they don’t pay attention to it. Listening to classical music requires a sense of passion that I believe lives inside everyone. Classical music tells a story comprised of infinite tones and melodies. Pop music today is catchy, yet distracting. Yet classical music waxes and wanes and varies in ways that leave much room for interpretation and deep thought. I believe that enough of this can become a process of coming to know oneself.

It is not my generation’s fault that it largely lacks a taste for classical music. I consider myself lucky because I have a father who prescribes to more unusual interests than most fathers of people in my generation. The interest mixed with the influence created a forced appreciation within me as a youth, but the majority of people my age did not have such a specific combination of traits within their families being enacted on them. Other people are not as fond of classical music for several reasons: a) Most parents don’t listen to classical music, b) most parents don’t actively persuade their children to appreciate classical music, c) classical music is more difficult to appreciate than modern pop music, and d) modern pop music contains a set of aesthetic values that classical music does not.

For the same reason that I am a member of the dwindling family of English majors instead of the booming group of Journalism majors, I appreciate the art that came before our time. It is normal for people to enjoy the newest and most modern forms of art; it is our nature. We are creatures who love to seek out the new and untouched. But I revel in the past. This makes me different from the majority and predisposes me to enjoy a piece by Handel instead of a song by Miley Cyrus. However, just because I feel that classical music has higher value doesn’t mean that there can be no value for others to hold in modern music. First of all, modern music is everywhere. It is on almost all radio stations, in television commercials, filling the “Top Purchased” lists on iTunes, and blasting at every house party and tailgate you come across. So in reality, it would be inconvenient to dislike modern music because it is so rampantly displayed. Modern music, unlike classical music, can be far more exciting and motivating. For example, classical music collaborated with the dancing style of the time to match the controlled and proper movements practiced by social groups. Today’s method of physical and fun expression is dancing wildly and intimately. Electronic beats and synthesizers work far more appropriately with the recreational attempts of today than would a concerto. It is entirely normal that society appreciate the produced art of the time because it is what surrounds us. It is because of my unusual direction and influence as a child that makes me different and hold the belief in my heart that classical music still shouldn’t die.

My father has been my influence in appreciating classical art in the form of music. When I was small, most of the CDs he owned were classical albums, and he often kept the radio station on classical music in the car. As a child, I have to admit, it bored the heck out of me. But my father would insist I learn an appreciation for it because it would benefit me later on in life. I never knew what that meant, but in recent years I have developed a sense of gratitude towards my father for teaching me this, because he was one hundred percent correct. I, sadly, unlike many of my friends, can still see the beauty in classics, no matter how old or out of date they are. Classical music is not obsolete, that is why it is called classic. It is the foundation of art and perfection and needs to continue to be recognized for its value, or else society will lose sight of what is truly and fundamentally beautiful.

3 thoughts on “Classical is Still Classic

  1. Daria,

    This is a great start to the assignment. You do a great job of laying out some of the background for your beliefs. You look closely at both what you believe and why, examining the social context as well the specifics of your own thinking.

    The second half of the response needs to be developed a little more, though, in order for the assignment to be graded satisfactory. Remember, the assignment is asking you to think about why other people might think differently from you. For instance, you say:

    “I, sadly, unlike many of my friends, can still see the beauty in classics, no matter how old or out of date they are.”

    Why is it, do you think, that other people feel this way? Is it necessary to receive private instruction? Why do you think so many people are incapable of experiencing the pleasures you experience? And you can’t just describe this as an absence. Why would someone value the modern instead of the classical? What values are conveyed through more contemporary music that classical lacks? Think hard about why other people might feel differently.

    Please review the assignment prompt. To receive a grade of S, this post must be revised to meet the requirements of the assignment. You have until September 24 to complete the revisions, but I strongly suggest submitting them ahead of time in case a second round of revisions are necessary. After you’ve edited the post, inform me in-class and I’ll mark it for review.

Leave a Reply

