Hipster Music

I’m a total hipster.
Yes, I said it. I believe that the music that is not mainstream is superior to all of the rest, especially the “top 40” or radio station music.
I grew up in a home where I was expected to be a certain way; to fit into the girly, domestic, stereotypical southern woman mold that my mother and two older sisters happened to fit in. Somewhere early on, I came to the realization that I would never be what my parents wanted me to be, so I began to make choices regarding interests, clothing, and musical taste that were contrary to everything my family was. I had to break out of this mold and cultivate my own persona. A guy I dated in high school introduced me to “indie” music and I began to solely listen to that. I was launched into hipster mode, constantly searching for the “underground” music..music that wasn’t consumed by my family and others in the mainstream. I had a certain pride in listening to music that people had never heard of; I was superior to them… if they simply listened to the ‘top 40’ music, they were squares..formulating their tastes based on what culture told them to listen to as opposed to going out and seeking their own music. There was such an unoriginality there that I hated, that I pushed away from. I hated the shiny ideals of what mainstream culture told me to do.

4 years down the line, my elitest view of music hasn’t changed much. Yet, there are still millions of people out there who still stick to the “top 40” music category. All sorts of people; including some of my friends. I believe they are subconsciously drawn to this music because, well, it’s comfortable. It fits into their clean cut box- along with their Ralph Lauren polo shirts, khaki shorts, and docksider shoes. I realize that this view sounds incredibly biased, and I’m majorly stereotyping here. My bitterness toward the “mainstream” is bleeding out here, but when I look at those who solely listen to the top 40 category of music, I see those who are unwilling to make their own decisions. The people they are surrounded by seem to all listen to the same things, and they don’t want to branch out. What it comes down to, I believe, is the old phrase “you are who you hang out with.” Those who listen to that type of music and wear those kinds of clothes probably fit me into a category of hipsters, where we all wear and listen to the same thing. After all, hipster is the new mainstream.

3 thoughts on “Hipster Music

  1. Hi Christianna,

    This is a great start to the assignment. You do a great job of laying out some of the background for your beliefs. You look closely at both what you believe and why, examining the social context as well the specifics of your own thinking.

    The second half of the response needs to be developed a little more, though, in order for the assignment to be graded satisfactory. Remember, the assignment is asking you to think about why other people might think differently from you. For instance, you say:

    “I believe they are subconsciously drawn to this music because, well, it’s comfortable. It fits into their clean cut box- along with their Ralph Lauren polo shirts, khaki shorts, and docksider shoes. I realize that this view sounds incredibly biased, and I’m majorly stereotyping here. My bitterness toward the “mainstream” is bleeding out here, but when I look at those who solely listen to the top 40 category of music, I see those who are unwilling to make their own decisions.”

    As you yourself seem to recognize, this really doesn’t meet the requirements. You need to think about why people might have different tastes. You describe pleasures of feeling “independent” in your tastes. Are there other pleasures that might influence people towards other tastes? I’m pretty sure it’s possible to enjoy Rihanna without fitting the stereotype you describe above. The *really* hard thing about this assignment is that it’s asking you to get into the mindset of other people. Others might follow country music or rap music for reasons not that dissimilar from yours — just in a different context.

    Please review the assignment prompt. To receive a grade of S, this post must be revised to meet the requirements of the assignment. You have until September 24 to complete the revisions, but I strongly suggest submitting them ahead of time in case a second round of revisions are necessary. After you’ve edited the post, inform me in-class and I’ll mark it for review.

    • Thanks for your feedback. In terms of editing my posting, do you think I should start over or just elaborate on what I said in the beginning? considering the post was supposed to be between 300-500 words, will it be counted against me if I post more than that? this may sound like questions, but I’m just checking!

      • Hey there! You can just elaborate if that’s easier or edit out older material to make room. Your choice. See you this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

